3 Commandments To Live By đź‘‘

Maegan Tomela Burke
2 min readMar 20, 2022

--

Forget what confidence means for others, what does it mean for you? If you need some inspo as you create your definition of confidence, here are 3 commandments that I live by.​

1. NEVER return a compliment with a compliment.

You know how someone says “I love your bag!” and you have the urge to say “OMG I love yours, too!”

Yea, I don’t do that. It took a lot of practice to respond with a simple “thank you” and a smile, but it’s necessary. You deserve to be celebrated, soak that compliment up!​

2. NEVER walk by a mirror without stopping for a moment of self-adoration.

I’ve never met a mirror that I didn’t like and my mom will tell you that that’s always been the case. As a kid, it was an opportunity for a quick outfit check and as I got older, every encounter with a mirror was an opportunity to list my flaws, but now?

Now it’s an opportunity to celebrate! I always give myself a smile and a compliment. And no, this isn’t something I started doing once I felt confident in my skin. It’s something I implemented when I was at my lowest point and it’s been one of the highlights of my journey.​

3. NEVER spend time with a man (or anyone) out of boredom.

During the intensity of my healing journey, I vowed to choose growth over company. No more “ehhh, I guess I could go have dinner real quick” or “I guess I can have company today”. As the saying goes, if it’s not a hell yea it’s a hell no.

To take it a step further, I’m super aware of how I feel around someone’s energy. Do I feel light and happy and full of laughter? I’ll definitely chill with them again.

Do I leave them feeling drained and in need of 3 days of solitude? If so, I’m not seeing them again. Life is too short to spend time with energetic vampires and my energy is too fire to just give it away.​

BONUS: NEVER follow trends.

I mae throw in a trendy shoe or bag, but more often than not everything I own is timeless. Not only is this great from the sustainability front, it also means I dress like me. My priorities are: quality, comfort and cuteness.

And if the French have taught us anything, they’ve taught us to invest in staple pieces. By investing in your look, you’re more likely to walk in your power. Our appearance is often the first impression we give. Might as well make it a good one?

Do you have any confident commandments? đź‘€

--

--