5 Goal Getting Tips for the New Year

Maegan Tomela Burke
3 min readNov 23, 2022

Now I know that not everyone gets excited for the new year so if you’re one of those people who couldn’t care less about goals and resolutions — this is not for you and that’s okay.

If you, like me, love an opportunity to up your standards, demand more of yourself and release expired beliefs then here are 5 ways that I get ready for a new year and new goals.

  1. Instead of waiting until the end of December or January to figure out my goals for the year, I create a note in my phone and jot down all of the ideas that come while I’m brushing my teeth, in the shower, etc. This way, when it is time to map out my goals, I don’t have to rack my brain for the goals that matter. I simply reference the list and decide what’s most important to me.
  2. I create start dates instead of deadlines. For example, I have a podcast called Moments with Mae. I haven’t recorded much in November for a multitude of reasons and I’m really excited to get back to it. Although I easily could decide to record today, I’ve banned myself from podcast recordings until December 1st. Doing it this way helps me get excited and when the start date arrives, I’m SO ready to get going.
  3. Get some practice in! I’m hosting a FREE 7-day goal getter challenge to help you dive into your goals and refine your approach before the new year. We get started…

--

--